The Best Banana Bread

I love banana bread. I think sometimes when I buy bananas, I let them get too ripe on purpose so I have an excuse for making a loaf or two! I do a lot of baking that calls for buttermilk. I knew buttermilk would be too thin to use in my recipe so I thought of the next best thing, sour cream. It adds the perfect zip in this bread. I know you will love it!

  
Ingredients:
1 stick of butter, melted
1 cup of sugar
1 1/2 cups of all purpose flour
1/2 t salt
1 t baking soda
2 eggs
1 t vanilla extract
1/2 cup sour cream
1/2 cup chopped walnuts, optional
3-4 bananas medium to large, mashed roughly (I leave mine kind of chunky)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a loaf pan, 9 x 5 or several small ones.

In a large bowl, mix sugar and butter together. Add eggs and vanilla and mix well. Combine all dry ingredients together and add that to the wet batter. Fold in sour cream, mashed bananas and walnuts. Pour into prepared loaf pan(s).

Bake for 50-60 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool in pan for 10 minutes and remove and cool on a wire rack until it’s cooled completely.

*I have added a cup of chocolate chips to this recipe and it’s yummy!

20140216-144230.jpg

  

Leave a comment