7 Minute Frosting

I was asked by one of my clients to make a red velvet cake with 7 minute frosting. She wanted it covered in coconut. I have never made a 7 minute frosting, I usually put cream cheese frosting on my red velvet cakes. Kind of a southern thing. I am from Southern California with southern roots. My Mom was born and raised in North Carolina. I now live in the south. This cake was a special memory for my client, her grandmother used to make her a cake like this. She cried tears of joy when I presented her with her cake.

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 T white corn syrup
1/8 t salt
2 egg whites
2 t pure vanilla extract

Place sugar, corn syrup, salt, water and egg whites in the top of a double boiler. (I used a big bowl over a pan of boiling water.) Do not put too much water in your pan. You do not want to have your pan or bowl touch the water or it might become grainy. Beat for one minute before placing over the boiling water. Once you put your pan/bowl over the boiling water, beat on high speed with your mixer for 7 minutes. Remove from heat and add vanilla. This makes enough frosting for a 2 layer 8″ or 9″ cake. Enjoy!

20140215-144737.jpg

20140215-144747.jpg

Leave a Reply

