Chicken Waldorf Pita Sandwich


I love chicken salad. I also love and miss my Mom’s Waldorf Salad. I thought it would be great to combine these two.  I can’t begin to tell you how tasty this was. Brilliant!  I used pita bread. You can use any bread or bun or croissant you want but I truly forgot how great pita bread was. I used to eat it a long time ago and forgot how delicious it really was. If you have never tried it, go for it. 


This is the pita bread I used for my sandwich. I was a little hesitant to buy this because it sounded too healthy to taste good. I was wrong.  Really wrong. It’s delicious and I will buy it again. 


Ingredients:

Both breasts of a rotisserie chicken, shredded in bite size pieces, I used Sam’s Club rotisserie chicken and it was about 4 cups shredded

 2 apples, chopped into bite size pieces, I used Braeburn which are large apples, if you use small or medium size, add another apple or two

3/4 cups walnuts, chopped

 1 cup celery, chopped

1 lemon, juiced*

1 Tablespoon brown sugar

3/4 cup sour cream

1 cup mayonnaise 

Season to taste

Lettuce leaves or spinach leaves, optional

Sliced tomatoes, optional

Pita bread, cut in half


Place shredded chicken, nuts and celery in a medium size bowl.  In another bowl, juice lemon and add the chopped apple. The lemon will prevent it from turning brown and add a zesty taste. Once you have tossed your apples in the lemon juice, add the brown sugar, sour cream, mayonnaise and blend. Add this dressing/apple mixture to the the chicken mixture in the other bowl.  Season to taste. Fill pita half with your Chicken Waldorf Salad. Add a lettuce leaf or spinach leaves to your pita. Enjoy!


*Place your room temperature lemon in the microwave for 11 seconds. It will yield more juice. 

8 thoughts on “Chicken Waldorf Pita Sandwich

    • Thank you Adam! I am embarrassed to say that I really didn’t think the pitas would be tasty but I was very surprised. They are awesome and I will keep them on my grocery list when I run out.

Leave a Reply

