Mom’s Chocolate Chip Cookies


My Mom, Peggy was not known for her baking skills. However, the one thing she excelled at was baking chocolate chip cookies. They were the best. She would bake them on Friday nights and put them in a big Tupperware container that had a seal on it! Oh, the memories of eating warm cookies from the oven. Today, I bake my cookies on the same cookie sheets my Mom used to bake my cookies.

Ingredients:
2 1/4 cup flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup of vegetable shortening, I used Crisco, the white kind
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar, I mix dark and light sugars together*
2 large eggs, I used jumbo
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
1 12 ounce package of semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 cup chopped walnuts, optional

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Combine dry ingredients in a small bowl and whisk together. In a mixing bowl, beat sugars and shortening until creamy. Add vanilla, and add eggs one at a time. Add flour mixture gradually. Mix well. Stir in chocolate chips and nuts if you are using. Drop by rounded teaspoon on an ungreased cookie/baking sheet.

Bake for 9-11 minutes until golden brown. Cool on cookie sheet for 2 minutes and remove to finish cooling on a wire rack. Once cool, store in an airtight container.

*I combine dark brown sugar and light brown sugar for 2 reasons. One for the taste, dark brown has a higher molasses base in it. The other reason is the color. It makes for a warmer browner cookie color. I find if I use all light brown sugar, the cookies seem washed out. If I use all dark, they are too brown!

This recipe can be easily doubled, tripled, etc. This is the recipe I grew up on and my boys grew up on. Now I have the pleasure of making them for my grandson. This recipe is grandson approved.

IMG_8088.JPG

IMG_8086.JPG

15 thoughts on “Mom’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I love that you use the same cookie sheet as your Mom did to bake your chocolate chip cookies – it’s such a wonderful way to carry on the tradition. And your cookies do look absolutely delicious – I definitely think your tester was enjoying them 😉 Thank you for sharing with the Hearth and Soul hop. This is the kind of recipe we are all about 🙂 I’ll be featuring your recipe in my post this week.

    • Thank you April! I know my Mom will be smiling in heaven today. My cookie sheets are ones she purchased at Sears and Roebuck many years ago. It’s stamped on the back! This is truly an honor for me. 🙂

      • I’m tearing up, I love that you use her pans. Just about all my pots were my mom’s think about her ever time. Gonna try this recipe never used half and half of the brown sugar. And that crisco instead of butter got to be better.

  2. Pingback: The 29 Best Chocolate Chip Dessert Recipes for the Chocolate Lover

  3. These are my favorite chocolate chip cookies ever!! So glad I found your recipe!! Always my go to for great cookies! Thanks!

Leave a comment