Asian Salad With Chicken


Years ago my children attended Schwarzkopf Elementary School in Lutz, Florida. It was named after General Norman Schwarzkopf. He and his wife were active at the school. He would come and read to the children when time permitted and his wife Brenda contributed food to the Teacher Appreciation Luncheons. We all looked forward to Mrs. Schwarzkopf coming with her homemade dishes and sharing her recipes. I have adapted my recipe from her recipe. Leave out the chicken and enjoy a meatless, vegetarian meal. I have been making this salad almost 20 years and I still love it!

Ingredients:
1 large head of Nappa Cabbage or 2 small
1 bunch of green onions
4 packages of Oriental Ramen Noodles *reserve flavor packs
4 ounces of slivered almonds
1 rotisserie chicken, skin removed and cut into bite size pieces

Tear up cabbage. I do not use the rind that runs down the middle. I just tear off the leaves on the side. Cut green onions with kitchen shears.

In a skillet, toast the almonds, watch carefully so they do not burn. Break up
the noodles and stick under the broiler to brown. Watch carefully, they brown up quickly. Mix with salad greens and set aside until you are ready to eat.

Dressing:
2/3 cups cider vinegar
1 cup of sugar or Splenda
1 cup oil
1 tablespoon of soy sauce
4 flavor packs from Ramen Noodles

I make my dressing in a jar. It’s best when you can shake to mix it. It does separate so it’s best when shaken, not stirred! 😉 I put my dressing on individual salads instead of tossing it in a big bowl of salad. Leftovers can be refrigerated and eaten at another time. Dressing will be absorbed by the Ramen Noodles if it’s tossed in the big salad bowl. Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Mrs. Brenda Schwarzkopf

20140306-214218.jpg

20140307-004712.jpg

20140307-005321.jpg

8 thoughts on “Asian Salad With Chicken

    • Thank you Karen! When I received Mrs. Schwarzkopf’s original recipe, it was just a side dish salad. I did add the chicken to make it a meal. My family and friends love this salad!

  1. Pingback: » Colcannon Cheesy Potatoes with Kale Lemony Thyme

  2. Pingback: LOX ME UP AND THROW AWAY THE KEY | Moore or Less Cooking Food Blog

Leave a comment