Peppermint Pound Cake

I have lost count how many Peppermint Pound Cakes I have baked in over 30 years. I have lost count. This cake is moist, and light on the peppermint flavor. It’s not overpowering at all. I have made these and given them to family and friends as gifts and now they expect them. I hope you enjoy this cake as much friends, family and I do. Happy Baking!

Ingredients:

1 box yellow cake mix, Duncan Hines preferred

1 small box of vanilla instant pudding

1 cup water

1/3 cup oil, I used vegetable

4 eggs

1 teaspoon peppermint extract, not mint, there is a difference

One recipe makes 2 large loaf pans.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour your bundt pan or loaf pans*. I used Bakers Joy.

Whisk cake and pudding mixes. Add water and oil and combine. Put the eggs in one at a time and mix well. Add peppermint extract. Pour into prepared pan(s). If you are baking in a bundt pan, bake 45-55 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Loaf pans will bake quicker and the mini loaf pans will bake in 20 minutes or so. Cool bundt pan about 20 minutes and remove to finish cooling. Do not glaze until cake is completely cooled.

**Peppermint Glaze:

1 cup powdered sugar

2-3 Tablespoons milk

1/2 teaspoon peppermint extract

Peppermint Candy Canes, I like the green and red stripe, crushed

Mix together and pour over poundcake(s). Add crushed candy canes.

*This is a wonderful poundcake that makes excellent gifts. You can usually 6-8 mini loaf pans or 2 good size loaf pans. After glaze is set, wrap in plastic wrap and deliver to your friends and family

**Additional glaze may be needed for individual pound cakes.

3 thoughts on “Peppermint Pound Cake

  1. Pingback: 21 Best Holiday Peppermint Recipes

Leave a comment