Peggy’s Hummingbird Cake


When our group decided to have May be our Mother’s Favorite Dish, there was no doubt in my mind what I would make. My Mom loved Hummingbird Cake. LOVED it! This was the first cake I ever baked from scratch at 20 years old. This cake has a lot of family memories for me. I had a difficult time trying to decide how to decorate it but when I think of my Mom, I think of beauty and elegance.

A little history on the Hummingbird Cake. It first appeared in Southern Living magazine in 1978. It was submitted to the magazine by Mrs. L. H. Wiggins of Greensboro, North Carolina. There are many ways to make a Hummingbird Cake. This was her favorite way I made this recipe for her. For you Mom ❤️.

Ingredients:
3 cups flour
2 cups sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon soda
1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, I use Saigon cinnamon
3 eggs beaten
1 1/2 cups vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla, I use Mexican
1 8 ounce can crushed pineapple, not drained
1 1/2 cups chopped pecans
3 cups very ripe (not rotten) bananas, rough mash, not mush should have some chunks

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour 3 9″ pans.

Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl. Add eggs and oil, stir to combine. Do NOT use a mixer! Add vanilla, pineapple, pecans and bananas.

Divide batter equally into the 3 cake pans. Bake for 30 minutes or until done. Cool in pans for 10 minutes, remove and cool completely. Frost cake and keep refrigerated.

Cream Cheese Frosting:
2 8 ounce packages cream cheese, softened
2 sticks of butter
2 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla
2 pounds of powdered sugar

Combine cream cheese and butter and beat until smooth. Add vanilla. Slowly add powdered sugar, mixing until light and fluffy. This will make enough frosting for an 3 layer cake that is not decorated.

20140506-094252.jpg
20140506-094314.jpg

13 thoughts on “Peggy’s Hummingbird Cake

  1. Happy Mother’s Day, your post made me cry, I can feel your love for your Mom, what a wonderful sentiment for your Mommy ❤ Perfectly gorgeous cake, I have never tried this cake, I just have to! Love, Nettie

  2. Pingback: Banana Cream Jelly Roll | An Affair from the Heart

Leave a comment