Crockpot Split Pea Soup


One of my favorite soups even though I am not a huge pea fan. I would rather eat peas in soup or frozen peas cooked in pasta or salads. I used leftover ham for this recipe and it was awesome. 


Ingredients:
1 pound dry split peas, soaked overnight (I don’t care what the package says, soak them!)

2-3 cups of ham, cut into bite size pieces

3 carrots, peeled and cut into coins

2 -3 jumbo red potatoes, diced small, I used 2 in this recipe

1/2 cup onions, chopped

2-3 ribs of celery, diced

2 bay leaves

1 tablespoon of season salt, I used Lawry’s

1 teaspoon garlic salt or powder

1 teaspoon black pepper

1 1/2 quarts (6 cups) of water

Croutons, optional for topping (I actually used seasoned stuffing mix I had leftover)


This is what the soup looks like if you do not mash the peas. 

Soak peas overnight. Pour into colander, drain and rinse and drain again. Place in Crockpot. Place all ingredients into Crockpot, except croutons. Cook on high for 5 hours or low for 8 hours. When done, if you want a thicker soup, take you potato masher and mash some of the peas in the Crockpot.  Please remove the Bay leaves before serving. This soup is filling and great leftover. Enjoy!

This is what the soup looks like after you mash the peas. 

Leave a Reply

