BLT Ranch Pasta Salad


I love BLT sandwiches. I thought why not turn my favorite sandwich into a salad. When I told my friend I was making a BLT Pasta Salad with romaine lettuce, he thought I was nuts. I did add a few other ingredients that don’t usually appear on my sandwich like cheese and green onions.  This salad was a big hit and it was very tasty. 

Ingredients:

8 ounces of pasta, cooked and drained I used shell pasta because that what I had, feel free to use your favorite

3/4 bag of Romaine Lettuce

4 green onions, cut into small pieces, green and white parts

Cherry tomatoes or a big heirloom tomato cut into bite size pieces

6 slices of bacon, cooked crisp, I used thick cut slices, crumbled

3/4 cheddar cheese, cubed into small pieces

Cook pasta according to the directions on the box. Drain from hot water and run cold water over your pasta in the colander to cool it off.  Pasta should not be hot. While the pasta is cooking, chop and cut up the other ingredients. Put all ingredients in your salad bowl and toss. Add your favorite ranch dressing or make my recipe posted below. Add dressing a little at a time so you do not over dress your salad. It’s better to add a little at a time and toss. Enjoy!

Homemade Ranch Dressing
Ingredients:
1 cup Buttermilk
1/2 cup Sour cream
1 Tablespoon of chopped chives, fresh is best
1 Tablespoon of parsley, I used dry
1/2 teaspoon Dill, dry
1/4 teaspoon Onion powder
1/4 teaspoon Garlic powder
1/8 teaspoon Salt 
1/8 teaspoon Pepper, cracked fresh if possible
Whisk all of the above ingredients. Refrigerate. Dressing is best if made the day before. 

2 thoughts on “BLT Ranch Pasta Salad

Leave a Reply

