Four Bean Salad

I grew up eating this salad and I have always loved it. Quick to make and very portable since there is oil and vinegar for the dressing. There are many different versions of this salad but this is my recipe.   This is a retro recipe from my past that is full of minerals and fiber. 


Ingredients:

1 can of cut green beans

1 can of wax beans

1 can of chick peas/garbanzo beans

1 can of kidney beans 

1/2 cup diced celery

1 small sweet onion, sliced in pieces

1/2 cup oil

1/2 – 3/4 cup apple cider vinegar or white vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar), I prefer a little more vinegar but if you are not a big fan of vinegar, reduce to 1/2 cup

1/2 cup sugar or Splenda (I used Splenda)

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon white pepper but black pepper will be fine


Rinse and drain all of the beans. Place in a large bowl.  Add celery and onion. Pour in oil, vinegar, sugar or Splenda, salt and pepper.  Toss to combine. Refrigerate and it’s even better the next day. Enjoy!


2 thoughts on “Four Bean Salad

  1. Good morning Cyndee! This has to be one of my favorite salads! I think it’s between sweet and sour, which I love! Have a blessed day!

    Sent from Chris’s iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

