Captain’s Yummy Rum Cake

I have been making rum cakes for years. Some friends and clients think it’s my signature cake. There is a secret to a good rum cake and I am going to devulge my secret in this recipe.  The secret to a good rum cake is time and bathing your cake in 2 -3 rum glazes before you eat it. I typically make rum cakes 2 days before delivery. That gives me time to apply the glaze several times. When I am done glazing the cake, the final glaze is like the glaze on a glazed donut. Trust me, this is a great recipe, moist and rummy. As far as using alcohol in food, I would never use anything I would not drink, so use the good stuff please. 

  
Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups pecans, chopped corse

2 1/2 cups of flour

1  1/2 Tablespoons of baking powder

1 teaspoon of salt

1 1/2 cups of sugar

3/4 cups vegetable oil

1 package vanilla instant pudding, 3.4 ounce package

4 eggs

1/2  cup milk

1/2  cup dark spicy rum, I use Captain Morgan

2 teaspoons of rum extract or flavor

  
Glaze:

1 stick of butter

1 1/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup water

1/2 cup rum, I use Captain Morgan

1 teaspoon of rum extract or flavor 

  
  
Cake:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Prepare your bundt pan with cooking spray that includes flour. Spray bundt pan generously. Add chopped pecans on the bottom of your pan and set aside. 
Whisk flour, baking powder, and salt in a separate bowl.  In your mixing bowl, blend oil and sugar about 3 minutes. Add the flour mixture and combine, when it’s combined, add the vanilla pudding. While this is blending, combine eggs, milk, rum and rum extract. Add the egg mixture to the mixing bowl and combine. Pour evenly into your bundt pan and bake 50 – 60 minutes or until a tester comes out clean.   Prepare glaze before your cake is done baking. Remove from oven and poke holes in the bottom of your rum cake. I used a meat thermometer but you can use chopsticks, skewers or anything to poke holes in your cake. 

  
Glaze:

In a sauce pan, melt one stick of butter, water and sugar. Bring to a rolling boil and boil for 5 minutes, stirring constantly. Remove from heat and add rum and rum extract or rum flavor. Pour into bundt pan and let cake soak up the glaze while it is cooling. Cool for 30 minutes before flipping cake onto serving plate. You will want to use a plate with a lip so glaze does not spill out. Once 30 minutes have passed, flip cake out and prepare another glaze. Gently brush on glaze on cake, I used a silicon brush.  Make sure you brush glaze over entire cake, top, sides and the inner hole (center).  Repeat glaze step again once the cake has soaked up the glaze. You will be brushing this glaze all over the cake until it has absorbed into the cake. Be careful not to brush off the pecans. Be gentle!  This step takes several times and can take a few hours of brushing cake and letting it rest and coming back to the brush the glaze on again. This is why I like to make ahead a day or two in advance.  Repeat glaze one  more time if desired. Store in an airtight container. 

  
Every year I make this man, my friend Pat, a rum cake for his birthday. 

  

I always tell my clients not to eat and drive!  😉  Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Captain’s Yummy Rum Cake

    • Thank you April. It’s very full of rum flavor and when the glaze dries, it actually protects the moist cake inside. One day of my favorite cakes to make. Two of my friends get one every year on their birthday.

Leave a Reply

