Not Your Mama’s Cornbread Biscuits

  
I am not a true Souherner but my Mom was and I have lived in the South since 1978. I do love cornbread. I have created a biscuit recipe that is not your typical biscuit. It has corneal, bacon, cheese, chives and jalapeños. It was love at fist bite. My Mom never made anything like this and my Grandma didn’t either but I know they would haved loved this recipe. 

  
Ingredients:
2 cups all purpose flour

1 cup cornmeal

1 teaspoon salt

1 Tablespoon baking powder

1/4 cup sugar

1 stick of butter, cubed into 1/2 inch pieces

1 egg

1/2 cup heavy cream

1/2 cup buttermilk

2 cups sharp cheddar cheese, grated

1 cup crispy bacon, crumbled, I used thick sliced

1/4 cup chopped pickled jalapeños, or more for more heat

1/4 heaping cup of chopped chives

  
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray a baking sheet with nonstick spray.
In a bowl, whisk together flour, cornmeal, salt, baking powder and sugar. Add butter and cut it in with 2 knives or pastry blender, working the butter into the dry mixture and the dry mixture crumbs are pea shape or smaller. Add cheddar cheese, bacon, chopped jalapeños and chives to the dry ingredients and set aside.
In a small bowl, whisk egg, heavy cream and buttermilk. Add to dry mixture and stir to form dough. Turn dough out on to floured surface and pat into a 1 inch round. Cut into biscuits, using a 2 inch biscuit cutter. Rework scraps to make additional biscuits. Recipes makes 12 – 16 biscuits.  I got more than a dozen because I don’t measure cheese or bacon. One can never have enough cheese or bacon!  Enjoy!

  

12 thoughts on “Not Your Mama’s Cornbread Biscuits

  1. Good morning Cyndee. These look amazing! My kids love spicy and cornbread! Thanks for the recipe. Hope you’re doing well.

    Sent from Chris’s iPad

    >

  2. Are you SURE you didn’t grow up in the South? These look absolutely killer. I usually see the word Jalapeno and run for my life, but in this case I think I’ll have to (gasp) follow your recipe exactly. I know two guys who will looooove these biscuits.

    • I did grow up in the South, Southern California! Lol. I promise the 1/4 cup of pickled jalapeño adds just a touch of heat. Nothing too hot at all. My friend doesn’t do spicy and she ate one and loved it. They are good, try one, you will like it! 😘

Leave a Reply

