Egg Nog French Toast Casserole

One thing I love about the holidays is egg nog season!  My favorite thing for breakfast is French Toast. I thought I would create a new breakfast casserole to celebrate my love for both. I love the crispy edges and the moist custard in this French Toast casserole. 

  
Ingredients:

1 loaf (16 ounces) of crusty white bread, I used 2 day old sourdough, torn into pieces

Butter for greasing casserole dish

8 eggs

2 1/2 cups egg nog, I used Publix low fat (my favorite)

2 teaspoons of vanilla

2 teaspoons of nutmeg

2 teaspoons of rum extract, optional

  
 Place torn pieces of bread in a buttered casserole dish. In a mixer, blend eggs, egg nog, extracts and nutmeg. Pour mixture over bread. Press down slightly and to make sure all bread is in the  custard mixture. Cover and refrigerate overnight. 

 

Casserole after 24 hours in refrigerator.  

  
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Set casserole dish out of the fridge while your oven is pre-heating. Bake 30 – 45 minutes. I baked mine for 45 minutes, it had a slightly firmer top with moist insides like a bread pudding.  You can cover your dish with foil if you do not prefer a firmer top. Sprinkle with powdered sugar, top with fresh fruit or serve with maple syrup. Enjoy!

  

2 thoughts on “Egg Nog French Toast Casserole

Leave a Reply

