Easy Peeling Deviled Eggs

One thing about deviled eggs that is not easy is peeling cooked eggs. I always knew the older the egg, the easier to peel. Reason being is that the PH in the egg increases as it gets older. I always try to buy my eggs a week before I boil them. That helps, but not always. I have been making deviled eggs all of my life and I admit, I have been making them the wrong way!  For this recipe, I used freshly bought eggs, not a week or a day old and they peeled perfectly.

Ingredients:

8 eggs  (room temperature)

Salt and pepper to taste

3 Tablespoons  Mayonnaise

3 Tablespoons Mustard (your choice, yellow, Grey Poupon, grainy, whatever you prefer)

Paprika, or McCormicks Salad Supreme

Chives, optional

Bring a quart of water to boil on your stove. Add room temperature eggs to the boiling water.  ( in the past I used cold eggs, cold water)  boil for 5 minutes, remove from heat and place a lid on the pot for 15 minutes. Drain water and cool eggs in cold water for 15 minutes. Perfect peeling eggs and my eggs were not a week old!  I was so happy!

Peel eggs, slice eggs in half and remove yolk, placing in a separate bowl.  Mash egg yolks with fork or potato masher.  Add salt and pepper.  I used about 1/8 teaspoon of each.  Add mayonnaise and mustard and mix well.  Spoon egg mixture back into egg whites.  Top with Paprika or Salad Supreme and chives, optional.  *The more eggs you boil and prepare, your mustard and mayonnaise will increase. Easy peeling eggs every time!  Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Easy Peeling Deviled Eggs

  1. I recently found a great trick for peeling eggs from a woman that raises chickens. Instead of boiling them, steam them. Let them steam for about 20 minutes. Makes a HUGE difference. Even farm fresh eggs peel easily with this method.

Leave a Reply

