Tostchada

I grew up in Southern California. I love Mexican food. This recipe pays homage to my favorite Mexican restaurant, Mexico City in Long Beach, California. I started eating at that restaurant on South Street sitting in a high chair. I loved their tacos, enchiladas and tostadas. This is a combination of a tostada and an enchilada. A tostada means toasted in Spanish. This meal is assembled in a stack and the last picture shown is a double stack.

Ingredients:
Corn tortillas
1 pound meat chicken (I used rotesiere ) or beef (ground or shredded)
Oil for frying
1 can enchilada sauce, I used Chi Chi’s
1 can of refried beans, I used Old El Paso
Lettuce, shredded
Scallions, green and white parts
1 large tomato, scoop out seeds and dice
Cheese, grated, cheddar or Jack or a combination
Avocado, cut into bite size pieces
Taco sauce or salsa

This dish is an assembly dish. It’s best if you prep everything in advance so when you stack your Tostchada, all ingredients will be ready to use. In separate bowls I had my chopped scallions, tomatoes, meat, cheese and avocados. I suggest stacking 2 tortillas with sauce, beans and meat on top of each other. Pile on the lettuce high, add your toppings and enjoy!

Heat refried beans, enchilada sauce and oil for frying. Fry tortillas until crispy and drain well on paper towels. Dip tortilla shell into enchilada sauce and place on plate. Spread warm beans on top of tortilla that has been dipped in enchilada sauce. Add meat. Repeat stack of tortilla, beans and meat. Pile lettuce and toppings. Top with taco sauce or salsa. I used taco sauce because it reminded me of what I ate at Mexico City Restaurant.

IMG_0170
Fried Corn Tortilla

IMG_0157
Dipped tortilla in enchilada sauce

IMG_0158
Tortilla with beans, before meat is added

IMG_0161
Shown one stack high

IMG_0154
Two stacks with taco sauce

5 thoughts on “Tostchada

  1. Pingback: Dine Decorate Design

Leave a Reply

