Ginger Snappy Egg Nog Pie


I love egg nog. I love that it reminds me of the holidays when everyone is happy and preparing for Christmas. My ginger snap crust puts the perfect zing with the egg nog filling. I don’t make many pies, but when I do, it’s a good one!

Pie Crust Ingredients:
1 12 ounce box of ginger snap cookies, I used store brand
1 stick of butter, melted

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Pulse cookies in food processor until it has become fine crumbs. I used 2 1/2 cups cookie crumbs for my 11 inch pie pan. In a bowl, combine with melted butter. Press into pie plate and bake for 12 minutes. Cool completely.
*for a 9 inch pie plate, use 2 cups of cookie crumbs, butter amount can stay the same

Egg Nog Pie Filling Ingredients:
4 cups egg nog, I used my favorite, Publix Low Fat
2 box of instant vanilla pudding mix
1/2 cup of rum, I used Sailor Jerry’s, or 1 tablespoon of rum extract
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
2 tablespoons cornstarch
**for a 9 inch pie plate, use 2 cups egg nog, 1 box of pudding, 1 tablespoon of cornstarch, the rum/rum extract and nutmeg can be altered to your tastes

Beat in the above ingredients until thickened and pour into a cooled pie crust. Refrigerate and enjoy!

Whip Cream and nutmeg for garnish.

Whip Cream:
1 8 ounce container of heavy whipping cream
Extract or rum
1 cup of powdered sugar

Chill mixing bowl and attachments in refrigerator for a minimum of 20 minutes. Pour 8 ounces of heavy whipping cream into the chilled bowl. Whip until the cream has formed stiff peaks, so that it can stand up without falling. Add 1 teaspoon of vanilla or a teaspoon or two of rum if desired. Add about a cup of powdered sugar, taste it to make its sweet, but not overly sweet. Pipe onto to pie with a 1 M tip.

IMG_9438.JPG

IMG_9437.JPG

IMG_9436.JPG

7 thoughts on “Ginger Snappy Egg Nog Pie

  1. Oh, my goodness, I love this pie! The combination of gingersnaps and egg nog is just genius, and so, so pretty! You decorated it beautifully! ♥ Thank you for sharing this with us at Treasure Box Tuesday- pinned! 🙂

  2. Thank you so much for attending week 15 of #PureBlogLove and linking your fantastic blog post. I have never actually had egg nog, we just don’t have it here being summer at Christmas and all BUT now I HAVE to try it because I HAVE to have this beautiful pie! I can’t wait to see what you have in store for our party next week Thursday 8 PM EST- Sundays at midnight. Your post has been added to the #PureBlogLove Pinterest board for all to see 🙂 Have a great day!
    Nicole

Leave a Reply

