Caribbean Bananas Foster

Bananas Foster is one of my favorite desserts. Iavarone’s restaurant in Tampa used to make the best but they took it off the menu. I have put my own spin on this wonderful dessert by adding Malibu Rum and toasted coconut. Typically the bananas are sliced length wise and in half for this dessert but Iavaronnes always served theirs sliced and I do too!

A little history on Bananas Foster, it originated in New Orleans at Brennan’s. It was created by Chef Paul in 1951.

Ingredients:
1/2 stick (1/4 cup) butter
1 cup brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup Malibu Rum
4 ripe bananas, sliced
1/4 cup Captain Morgan
Vanilla ice cream
1/4 – 1/2 cup toasted coconut*

Combine butter, sugar and cinnamon in a skillet. Over medium low heat, melt the butter and sugar. Stirring until the sugar dissolves. Stir in the Malibu Rum and once combined, add the sliced bananas. I cook the bananas and sugar syrup for 5 minutes once it becomes hot and bubbly. Carefully add the Captain Morgan. Raise heat to medium and bring bananas and syrup back up to a boil. Boil for 4 additional minutes. It is not necessary to ignite the sauce but if you wish to, please use caution. Spoon over vanilla ice cream and top with toasted coconut. Serve immediately. Enjoy!

*Toasted Coconut can be made in the microwave! Simply place your coconut on a plate and microwave in 30 second intervals. Stir after each 30 second interval until you reach desired brownness. My coconut was frozen (I keep mine in the freezer for freshness) and I microwaved mine for about 5 minutes.

If you have leftovers, the sauce can be refrigerated and heated up the next day.

20140620-192635-69995612.jpg

20140620-192636-69996594.jpg

Recipe adapted from Brennan’s.

3 thoughts on “Caribbean Bananas Foster

  1. I love Bananas Foster. When I was in New Orleans I went to Brennans but was afraid to have it because I was pregnant and it’s made with alcohol. I’m SO making your version, can’t wait.

  2. Pingback: Caribbean Eats! Cinnamon Fried Bananas – Grenada | Caribbean Eats!

Leave a Reply

