Tipsy Fruit Salsa


I was invited to an April Fools Day Food Blogger Party. Thank you Rowdy Baker for the invitation! If I participated, the ingredients had to be crazy. Or I did! I think I nailed it. My strawberries were so big and full of juice, they almost colored everything red. I really like this salsa. It’s different and combines the combination I love the most, sweet and salty. I hope you enjoy this as much I as do.

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups strawberries, diced chunky
1 peach (I used some slices thawed from frozen), diced chunky
1 jalapeño, diced fine (it’s up to you if you leave the seeds and membrane in)
1/2 cup red onion, finely diced
1 Haas avocado, diced chunky
The juice of 1 lime
1 shot of tequila, optional
3 Tablespoons of chopped cilantro, more for garnish
Several pinches of salt
Tortilla chips

In a large bowl, cut up fruit and set aside. Using a food processor, finely dice jalapeño and red onion. Add to fruit mixture. Add a good pinch of salt. If this mixture has too much liquid, place everything in a strainer and drain the juice. Dice up your avocado and place in a separate bowl. Add a pinch of salt to the avocado. Squeeze the juice of one lime over the avocado. Add into fruit mixture. Add cilantro and tequila. Toss lightly and strain. You do not want to soak your fruit salsa in alcohol, just give it the taste of tequila. Serve immediately with tortilla chips.

20140401-120628.jpg

20140401-120647.jpg

8 thoughts on “Tipsy Fruit Salsa

    • I was very pleased how it turned out. By summer fresh peaches would be better than frozen. I preferred it to be more like pico, so I drained the liquid right before serving. If I am in the neighborhood, I will stop by for a margarita, my favorite! 🙂

    • I think you will love it! If you want it more like pico de gallo, drain the liquid. If you want it more like salsa, leave the liquid. You are very welcome. More wonderful recipes coming your way Sheryl!

Leave a Reply

