Baked Rueben Crescent

I cannot take any credit for this recipe except for the picture and typing it up. I saw this on my friends news feed on Facebook (Rhonda). I love a good Rueben sandwich. The recipe was posted by Jacquie Bernhardsson. Disclaimer, I don’t know if it was her original recipe. I am giving you the original recipe, I cut it in half for myself, baked it in a 8 inch square pan. I have lots of leftovers and I plan on reheating by wrapping my sandwich in foil and warming it up in the oven.

Ingredients:
2 tubes of crescent rolls
1 pound sliced Swiss cheese
1 1/4 pounds of deli sliced corned beef
1 can of sauerkraut, rinsed and drained
2/3 cup Thousand Island dressing
1 egg white beaten
3 teaspoons caraway seeds

Unroll one tube of crescent dough into one long rectangle. Seal seams together. Press into a greased 13 x 9 pan. Bake at 375 for 8-10 minutes or until golden brown.

Layer with half of the cheese and all of the corned beef.

Combine sauerkraut and dressing, spread this on top of the corned beef.

Top with remaining cheese.

With a sheet of wax paper that you have sprayed with Pam, put the other tube of crescent rolls on the wax paper. Spray anther sheet of wax paper and seal seams and flatten dough to cover the top layer of cheese. Jacquie suggested a lightly floured surface, I prefer wax paper.

Brush with egg white and sprinkle with caraway seeds.

Bake 12-16 or until heated through and crust is golden brown. Let stand 5 minutes before slicing.

*This recipe can be easily cut in half. Reheat leftovers wrapping in foil and warming up in the oven. If you are not a Rueben lover, I suppose you could substitute turkey for corned beef and coleslaw for sauerkraut as another option. I can’t imagine not loving Ruebens! Enjoy!

*Suggestion made by Tampa Cake Girl

20140108-125607.jpg

Leave a Reply

