Beer Cheese Soup

Years ago I lived in Muskegon, Michigan. There was a restaurant that served the best beer cheese soup. They also made great sandwiches but to this day, when I think of Muskegon, I think of my friends and my restaurant, The Hearthstone. Tonight, I pay homage to their soup, right down to the cheese popcorn that garnished every bowl.

Ingredients:

1/4 stick of butter
1 medium onion
1 celery stalk
1 good size carrot, or a couple of small ones
2 gloves garlic, minced
1/4 cup flour
3 teaspoons dry mustard
1/4 teaspoon white pepper
2 cups half and half
1 cup reduced sodium chicken broth
24 ounces Velveeta Sharp Cheddar, cut in cube
12 ounces of your favorite beer
Cheese popcorn for garnish

Melt butter in a Dutch oven. Put onion, celery and carrots in your food processor. Pulse until finely chopped. Add to melted butter and sauté until tender, about 5 minutes.

Add flour pepper and mustard. Stir constantly for a minute.

Gradually add in half and half and chicken broth. Stir until combined. Cook 15 minutes until soup is thickened.

Add cheese and beer. Cook 8 minutes until cheese is melted, stirring frequently. Do not boil.

Garnish with cheese popcorn. Enjoy!

20140108-122641.jpg

4 thoughts on “Beer Cheese Soup

  1. Knew instantly you were referring to Hearthstone and you are so right. I own at least three booths there. LOL it was my home away from home. I probably know you, lived in Mkg. Most of my life.

Leave a Reply

